Clothed in My Right Mind

(Reader, This post is from my original Blog started in 2013. It was a poem looking back at that year and ironically not much has changed. I share it with you as a  way to end this year since Father Time once again approaches.  Feel free to comment/share. Thanks for Reading..115 See you in 2016!)

Mourned with the nation

once again

As halls of learning

Became graveyard for

Innocents.

A reminder of my own

Brush with violence

In the classroom.

Endured silently as close friends

Battled the big C

Praying for their strength

And God’s mercy.

Where is the cure for

This unspeakable disease.

Battled my own

Insidious malady

That like some thief

In the night

Robs me of sleep

And my Memory.

Marveled as my Readership

Climbed to new Heights

Propelled by the Musings

of a Canine with an attitude.

Witnessed two couples

Become Betrothed

Renewing my blistered faith

In Happily Ever After.

Watched painfully as another

Sizzled and burned

The vows of Matrimony

Sacrificed on the

Altar of Deceit.

Relished the fervor

Of an Unexpected Romance.

That awakened a spark

And just as quickly

Flitted and Died.

Marveled as hordes of folks

Worshipped at the throne

Of Scandal.

While the real scandal

A President without support

Played out up the road.

Bid adieu to a Pillar

Of the community

And of the family.

Her battle courageously fought

At peace now finally at Home.

Labored in my Jardin

Harvesting food for my Soul

Feeding family and neighbors

And daily stopping to smell

The Rose.

Celebrated parents, brother

Sister, and two girls.

Not always in harmony

But always in Love.

Confided in good girl friends.

Sharing both highs and lows.

Thankful for the voice

At the end of the phone.

Celebrated life in the faces of

I, J, K and D

Becoming Men of the Family.

Hoping that the New Year

Already frigid and cold

Offers a Chance

To once again

Pursue the Dream.

Published by

liberallindablog

Creative one: loving... the Creator, self, family, faithful friends, good health, eating right, growing own food, good books, memorable movies, workouts, writing to exercise brain/passions, cooking from the heart, music to soothe, dancing to release...Loving LIFE I started blogging in 2013 following an outrageous and hilarious trip to Vegas. After recounting the experience to several friends, I decided to blog about it and thus began-The Adventures of an African-American writer Searching for Her story. In addition to blogging, I am the author of several books for young people on the history and culture of Ancient Egypt, Mali and Angola. My posts will appear 1 or 2 times a month and subjects will vary from social issues to healthy living, sprinkled with my wry sense of humor. Come along on the journey! Comments welcome and please share with others just like we did in Kindergarten!

Leave a Reply

